A Christian Pastor Opposed Trump On Facebook

Bob Young
3 min readApr 19, 2020

A friend of mine, a Christian Pastor, posted this on Facebook:

“Facebook Friends — There are moments when even Old Dogs can learn. I had a conversation with a couple of people that are dear to me about the affect certain posts have on them. They shared with me how some posts that, in their eyes, tear down someone or something important to them, leave them feeling angry or hurt. Generally, these kind of conversations get tucked away to think about from time to time. Instead, this one stuck with me and the light did not dim. This was a moment of spiritual clarity, so I am acting on it. I have decided to refrain from posting things that would cause another hurt and to take down recent posts that are not positive in nature. It feels right!”

Since I don’t post about politics on friends’ Facebook pages, I’m posting my reply here, and I hope he’ll see it.

My reply:

It’s a tough call, Friend, and I share your dilemma. Jesus and John the Baptist called people insulting names (“Brood of snakes! Hypocrites!”). Elijah ridiculed the prophets of Baal during the Challenge of Sacrifice on Mount Carmel (I Kings 18:19ff). The Apostle Paul said, “I have become all things to all people, that by all means I might save some.” And we can be sure that some of those things that Paul became were as offensive to some as they were attractive to others! Paul even publicly wished genital mutilation on some of his religious opponents. The gospel is not without offense, and religious people…

--

--

Bob Young

CISO, Director of Information Security, and Security Consultant. Also, I wrote some books that have nothing to do with IT. http://www.amazon.com/author/bobyoung